additional \$1,000 tax free as indemnity for expenses and travelling. The Speaker is paid an additional \$666.60 and a further additional \$333.40 tax free as indemnity for expenses and travelling. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional \$1,000 and a further additional \$500 tax free for expenses and travelling.

15.-Legislatures of Prince Edward Island, 1945-64, as at Apr. 30, 1964

Nors.-Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 75; for 1924-35 in the 1938 edition, p. 110; and for 1936-43 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 82.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Sept. 15, 1943 Dec. 11, 1947 Apr. 26, 1951 May 25, 1955 Sept. 1, 1959 Dec. 10, 1962	20th	4 5 6 4 4	Feb. 15, 1944 Feb. 24, 1948 Oct. 23, 1951 Feb. 2, 1956 Mar. 1, 1960 Mar. 14, 1963	Oct. 27, 1947 Mar. 30, 1951 Apr. 27, 1955 Aug. 3, 1959 Nov. 8, 1962

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1964.

16.-Twenty-Fourth Ministry of Prince Edward Island, as at Apr. 30, 1964

(Party standing at latest General Election, Dec. 10, 1962: 19 Progressive Conservative and 11 Liberal.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Executive Council. Minister of Public Works and Minister of Highways. Minister of Education. Minister of Education. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Health. Provincial Treasurer, Attorney and Advo- cate General. Provincial Sceretary. Minister of Tourist Development and Minister of Tourist Development and Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Welfare and Labour. Minister of Agriculture.	Hon. Walter R. Shaw Hon. J. Philip Matheson Hon. L. George Dewar Hon. Leo F. Rossiter Hon. Hubert B. McNeill Hon. M. Alban Farmer Hon. J. David Stewart Hon. Henry W. Wedge Hon. Andrew B. MacRae	Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959 Jan. 3, 1963 Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1960	Sept. 16, 1959 Jan. 3, 1963 Jan. 3, 1963

Subsection 3.-Nova Scotia

The Government of Nova Scotia consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1867) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 106; since that date the position has been held by Maj.-Gen. the Hon. E. C. Plow, commissioned to office Sept. 1, 1958, followed by the Hon. H. P. MacKeen, commissioned to office Mar. 1, 1963.

The Legislature has 43 members elected for a maximum term of five years. The Legislature elected Oct. 8, 1963 is the 48th in Nova Scotia's history and the 25th since Confederation. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 107.

The Premier of the province receives a salary of \$12,000 per annum and each Cabinet Minister a salary of \$10,000 per annum. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,200 and an allowance of \$1,600 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties. The Leader of the Opposition receives an allowance of \$7,200 in addition to his sessional indemnity.